Week 4 Classmate conversation: Rachel Peng

This week I had the pleasure of having a conversation with Rachel Peng (the girl directly in front of me). We had previously known each other from a prior encounter while Rachel was still in high school and I was in my first year in college. She had agreed to adopt my stray kitten. I say stray because I had found the kitten in my back yard and decided to take care of it for 2 weeks. However, this is a story for another time. Rachel is a first year here at CSULB and is going into pre-nursing. She understands that this major is impacted and is determined to try her best. She even has a back-up plan in case directly going into Nursing becomes impossible.

Initially, I had asked Rachel general questions about herself. Such as, “What do you like to do” or “What kind of hobbies do you have?” Most of these questions were answered with “I don’t know.” and some laughter. Eventually we had come to a conclusion that she just “goes with the flow.” In a matter of speaking, she is a spontaneous individual. I took the liberty of reading her blog post about what she thought of our interaction and it seems that we do not have a lot in common, or so she says. I, personally, cannot not agree with this opinion because we only had conversations on very generic topics and they were topics that any two individuals could have different opinions on, like we had.

In regards to art, Rachel feels she can appreciate art and its many obscure aspects. In this sense, I feel that we are different. I do not really care much for art. Not saying that I dislike it, I merely feel that I do not have a passion for art and its many forms. As the two of us walked around all 3 galleries we found one that both of us enjoyed. It was the piece with pink fur on the walls and many fish hooks coming down from the ceiling. Not many words were shared but we both enjoyed the piece and felt that it was the most normal out of all the pieces in all the galleries.

Leave a Reply

