Week 10: Artist Interview – Almira Nikravesh

20141030_112152

Just looking at this piece made drop my jaw in awe. Why? I could feel the artists frustration while building this piece. Anyone can see that this piece truly tested the artist’s patience. What I know is that I would not have the patience to build something that would take so much precision and time. Stacking that many pennies in such a way must have been extremely difficult. I could not help but imagine what it would be like if someone were to just kick this sculpture to the ground… How terrified would I be if I saw my own piece destroyed. It was hilarious to see almost everyone amazed by this piece. For me, rather than the artistic value I was amazed by the raw dedication to build something that requires so much attention and effort. Not saying that other piece do not have attention and effort, but things like this really can make someone stress out to the point where they want to pull their own hairs out. I could practically see and feel my own frustration as I imagined myself making this piece.

Leave a Reply

